Oatmeal Muffins with a Twist

My boyfriend is working in Prince George for the week and I was feeling too mentally exhausted to work on my non-profit last night so I decided to rummage through my kitchen cupboards. I didn’t have much besides eggs, oatmeal and of course baking ingredients from my failed attempt to make cookies for Christmas presents (I promise to make some this year!). So with my little muffin tray I decided to make oatmeal muffins using a generic muffin recipe with some maca powder to level out my hormones, my jarred hazelnuts from Harrison and of course flax – flax is good for you.
While I used a generic recipe I changed a few things around so here’s what I did:
Preheated the oven to 400°F
  • 1 cup ready to cook oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup water or milk (however you prefer to eat your oatmeal)

Boil the water or milk and mix with ready to cook oatmeal. In a different large bowl I mixed the following together…

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup fair trade cane sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts (or any other kind or no nuts)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon of flax
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder

**IF the ready to cook oatmeal you made already has sugar then reduce the cane sugar by half a cup.

Poured the cooked oatmeal mix into the larger bowl but only until mixtures are combined – avoid over mixing (yes, this is impossibly easy to do and makes the muffins rubbery). Throw into the oven (gently to avoid spilling batter) and wait about 15-17 minutes before pulling them out. I suggest letting them cool before indulging.

If you’re living on your own these might last for a whole week! My boyfriend returns in a couple days so mine will probably be eaten before the weekend ends.

IMG_2709

Leave a Reply

